I-70 Chase Ends with Two Arrests

| February 7, 2013
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Michael Garrett

Rhonda Watson

Multiple law enforcement agencies were involved in a vehicle chase on I-70 just after midnight last night.  The Boone County Sheriff’s Department reports tire deflation devices were successful in bringing the car to a stop.

The driver, Rhonda Watson, 42, of Pilot Grove, was charged with resisting arrest and failure to yield to an emergency vehicle.  Her passenger, Michael Garrett, 34, of Columbia, was arrested on outstanding warrants from Boone and Callaway Counties.

Press Release from the Boone County Sheriff’s Office

On the morning on February 7, 2013 at about 12:29 a.m., the Boone County Sheriff’s Department’s Pro-Active Unit attempted to initiate a traffic stop on a vehicle for multiple traffic violations on westbound Interstate 70 near the 115 mile marker.  The suspect vehicle did not stop for officers and a vehicle pursuit ensued.

Officers from the Missouri State Highway Patrol, the Cooper County Sheriff’s Department and the Boonville Police Department assisted with the pursuit after the vehicle crossed into Cooper County.  Tire deflation devices were successfully deployed and the suspect vehicle came to a stop near the 105.8 mile marker.  Both the vehicle’s driver and a passenger were taken into custody without further incident.

Rhonda Lynn Watson, 42 of Pilot Grove and Michael Wayne Garrett, 34 of Columbia were both arrested at the scene.

Watson was arrested for Resisting Arrest and Failure to Yield to an Emergency Vehicle.   Her bond was set at $645.00.

Garrett was arrested for outstanding warrants from Boone and Callaway counties that carried a total bond of $2200.00.

In June of 2011, Garrett was arrested following a similar incident in which he led sheriff’s deputies on a 15 mile vehicle pursuit from Columbia to rural Hartsburg.

All subjects should be considered innocent until proven guilty in a court of law.








Please follow and like us:

Category: Local News, News

About the Author ()