Lafayette County Ballots

| March 28, 2013
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Voters County-wide will decide whether to renew the 1/2 Cent Sales Tax that is used on roads.  If approved, it will expire after five years.

Voters will decide on two members of the Lexington R-5 Board of Education.  Steve Kaullen, Mary Kate Alkire, Scott Hamilton, Timothy Dougherty, and Charles Hollingworth are on the ballot.

Some Lafayette County residents will vote on Director in the Oak Grove R-6 School District.  Those candidates are Greg Latshaw, Eric Brenegar, and Montie Tripp.

In the Odessa R-7 School District, Mike Alumbaugh, Henry Grubb, and Brian Madsen are running for a three year term as Director on the Board of Education.

Five people are running for two director’s positions on the Lafayette County R-9 District’s Board of Education.  Those candidates are Jeff Beckemeyer, Rheanna Todd, Cheryl Dickey, Dave Russell, and Anthony Rukavina.

Two directors will be elected to the Richmond R-16 Board of Education.  Tom Williamson, Jeffrey “Tof” McWilliams, Billy Gaines, April Maulsby, Rosita Dial, John Scowley, and Chris Minnick are on the ballot.

The City of Alma is asking to establish a $0.35 sales tax levy per $100 of assessed valuation for maintenance of City streets.  It would expire after four years.

The Village of Aullville has four people running for a two-year term on the Board of Trustee.  Those names are Christy Borgstadt, Misty Getman, and Malinda Wilckens.

Two people are running for Mayor of Bates City.  Those candidates are Shawn Fox and Diana Rickey.  Four people are running for two open two-year-terms as Aldermen-at-large.  Donnie Hammond, Don McCarty, Doug Rickey, and Oliver Luther are on the ballot.  Two people are on the ballot for the one-year term.  Those names are Dianna Rogers and Don White.

In Blackburn, Charles Meinershagen and Larry Mueller are listed as candidates for Alderman Ward One.

The Mayor’s position in Lake Lafayette has two people running.  Those candidates are Nancy Asbury and Howard Cozart.  Mike Betts, Lillian Simons, Francis Largent, Deborah Thompson, James Jeffries, and James Mullins are running for two open Aldermen positions.

In Lexington, the Third Ward Councilperson position is contested.  Bill Miller and Jeffery Norris are on the ballot.

Four people have filed for two open Alderman-at-large seats in Mayview.  Those candidates are Larry Schieber, Corissa Hayward, Sandra DeHaven, and Michelle Smith.

The position of Second Ward Alderman in Waverly has three candidates.  Those are Kevin Emde, Mary Phillips, and Billy Arnold.

In Wellington, Kent Rogge, Richard Rukavina, and Keith Portell are vying for the position of Council member at large.

Continuation of a $0.30 sales per $100 tax levy is on the ballot for the Alma Special Road District.  If approved, the tax would expire in 2016.

The Camden Bottoms Common Road District is asking voters to renew the existing levy of $0.30 for four years.

A renewal of the Concordia Special Road District’s existing $0.33 tax levy is on the ballot.  It would expire after four years.

Voters in the Corder Special Road District are being asked to authorize a levy of $0.35 per $100 assessed valuation for a period of four years.

The 2-W Common Road District is asking voters to renew the existing levy of $0.33 for another four years.

Three elected directors for the Mayview Fire Protection District will be elected.  John Vahrenberg, Scott Wright, Albert Ryun, Jr., and Kenneth Fiegenbaum are on the ballot.

Voters will decide if the Mayview Fire District will be incorporated and organized.  A tax levy of $0.30 is also being requested for the Protection District.

In the Sni Valley Fire Protection District, Jeff Jennings and Terri Stahl are running for a six-year Director term.

Please follow and like us:

Category: Local News, News

About the Author ()