Rep.-elect Peggy McGaugh submits resignation as County Clerk, Norma Sparks nominated as interim Clerk

| February 23, 2018
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

CARROLL COUNTY, Mo. — Representative-elect Peggy McGaugh (R-Carrollton) formally submitted her resignation as Carroll County Clerk to Gov. Eric Greitens Thursday.

Rep.-elect Peggy McGaugh (R-Carrollton)

McGaugh was elected to replace her son, the Honorable Joe Don McGaugh, as Representative for Missouri’s 39th District with 64% of votes February 6. The younger McGaugh resigned the seat last year after being appointed by Gov. Greitens to serve as associate judge for Carroll County.

Rep.-elect McGaugh is scheduled to be sworn in Monday afternoon in the House Chambers of the Missouri State Capitol in Jefferson City.


Interim County Clerk Norma Sparks

Norma Sparks, a resident of DeWitt, was nominated by the Carroll County Commission and Carroll County Republican Central Committee Tuesday to serve as interim Carroll County Clerk upon the resignation of McGaugh, which will take effect Sunday, February 25 at 11:59 p.m.

Sparks has worked with McGaugh in the Carroll County Clerk’s office for more than 20 years. Governor Eric Greitens is expected to appoint Sparks as the Republican candidate to replace McGaugh and serve out the remainder of her term.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Headlines, Local News, News, State News

About the Author ()

Brian Lock is the News Director for KMZU News. He is a resident of Carrollton and attended the University of Missouri - Columbia.