JEFFERSON CITY – State Treasurer Clint Zweifel has authorized 26 counties to be added to the list of counties eligible for emergency 24-hour approvals of low-interest Missouri Linked Deposit Program loans in response to President Barack Obama’s federal emergency declaration.

The emergency process is known as the Harmed-area Emergency Loan Priority system, or HELP. The counties added are: Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Callaway, Carroll, Chariton, Clark, Clay, Cole, Cooper, Franklin, Gasconade, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Lafayette, Lewis, Moniteau, Montgomery, Osage, Platte, Ray, Saline, St. Charles and Warren. The City of St. Louis and St. Louis County were placed on the list in April and had not been removed.

“With historic flooding in progress or on the way it is essential borrowers and lenders in these counties know resources are available within just 24 hours,” Treasurer Zweifel said. “Counties already on the list have received 30 emergency loans so far totaling $20 million and impacting 700 jobs and farmers. Whether the capital is needed today, tomorrow or when the waters recede, my team is ready.”

HELP eligible counties are determined by Treasurer Zweifel using executive orders, disaster requests, State Emergency Management Agency and Federal Emergency Management Agency information and Agricultural Disaster Designations and Declarations. Normal loan approval time is 10 days.

To see a complete and up-to-date list of eligible counties visit

About the Missouri Linked Deposit Program

The Missouri Linked Deposit Program is managed by State Treasurer Clint Zweifel. Missouri-based small businesses with up to 99 employees and farmers are eligible to receive a loan through the Missouri Linked Deposit Program based on lender underwriting standards. Additionally, local governments, housing developments and alternative-energy focused projects may qualify for the low-interest loans. About 115 lenders with 350 branches throughout Missouri use the Missouri Linked Deposit Program. An extensive list of participating lenders and program eligibility guidelines are online at

Information from the Office of Clint Zweifel