download (2)

Kansas City, Mo. (MIAA Press Release)Seven different teams had players earn first team status as the All-MIAA baseball team was announced today.

The MIAA Player of the Year is Washburn catcher David Gauntt who hit .347 on the season with 17 home runs, 48 runs driven in and 53 runs scored. The MIAA Pitcher of the Year also came from Washburn in Nick Silva who had a lead best 2.39 earned run averaging going 8-0 with one complete game.

The MIAA Freshman of the Year is Northeastern State pitcher Zach Parish who went 6-2 with a 4.10 earned run average and 100 strikeouts during the regular season.

Rounding out the first team pitching staff were Central Missouri’s Ethan Westphal, Emporia State’s Tyler Stubblefield and Missouri Southern’s Payton Walker with UCM’s Grant Gavin named the first team relief pitcher.

The infield around Gauntt includes Emporia State’s Evan Koehler at first base and Washburn’s Kyle Carnahan at third base. Up the middle David Glaude of Missouri Western is a second base with his teammate Landon Mason selected as the first team shortstop.

In the outfield are Emporia State’s Dalton Wheat, Central Oklahoma’s Landon Eason and Lindenwood’s Wes Degener. Jesse Rall of Missouri Southern has been named the first team designated hitter for the second straight year with Jon Kamies of Central Oklahoma earning utility player honors.

The MIAA tournament first round gets underway today with games at 9 a.m., 12:30 p.m., 4 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. from the Lou Brock Sports Complex in St. Charles, Mo.


Player of the Year: David Gauntt, Sr, C, Washburn
Pitcher of the Year: Nick Silva, Jr., P, Washburn
Freshman of the Year: Zach Parish, P, Northeastern State
Coach of the Year: Kyle Crookes, Central Missouri

First Team All-MIAA
Pitcher: Ethan Westphal, Jr., Central Missouri^

Pitcher: Tyler Stubblefield, Jr., Emporia State^$
Pitcher: Payton Walker, Sr., Missouri Southern^

Pitcher: Nick Silva, Jr., Washburn^
Relief Pitcher: Grant Gavin, Jr., Central Missouri
Catcher: David Gauntt, Sr., Washburn
First Base: Evan Koehler, Sr., Emporia State$
Second Base: David Glaude, Jr., Missouri Western
Shortstop: Landon Mason, Jr., Missouri Western
Third Base: Kyle Carnahan, Sr., Washburn
Outfield: Landon Eason, Jr., Central Oklahoma
Outfield: Dalton Wheat, Sr., Emporia State
Outfield: Wes Degener, So., Lindenwood
Designated Hitter: Jesse Rall, Sr., Missouri Southern$
Utility: Jon Kamies, Jr., Central Oklahoma

^=Four pitchers due to tie in the voting

$=Repeat first team selection

Second Team All-MIAA
Pitcher: Carlos D’Armas, Sr., Central Missouri

Pitcher: Connor Law, Jr., Lindenwood

Pitcher: Zach Parish, Fr., Northeastern State
Relief Pitcher: Garrett Brummett, Sr., Emporia State
Catcher: Eric Kirkpatrick, Sr., Northeastern State
First Base: Bennett Oliver, Sr., Central Missouri
Second Base: Christian Binger, Sr., Southwest Baptist
Shortstop: Nathan Prindle, Sr., Lindenwood
Third Base: Caleb Sneed, So., Southwest Baptist
Outfield: Connor Ross, Sr., Fort Hays State
Outfield: Chris Hoffman, Sr., Missouri Southern
Outfield: Nick Gawley, Jr., Missouri Western
Designated Hitter: Jake Alexander, Sr., Central Missouri*

Designated Hitter: Isaac Hellbusch, Sr., Central Oklahoma*
Utility: Richie Gorski, Jr., Missouri Southern

*=Two designated hitters due to tie in the voting

Third Team All-MIAA
Pitcher: Daulton Leiker, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Pitcher: Richard Peoples, Jr., Missouri Western

Pitcher: Anthony Caenepeel, Jr., Northwest Missouri
Relief Pitcher: Nikko Pablo, Jr., Northwest Missouri
Catcher: Matt Smith, Jr., Missouri Southern
First Base: Andrew Vogelbaugh, So., Pittsburg State
Second Base: Jake Dyer, So., Central Oklahoma
Shortstop: Riley Krane, Jr., Washburn
Third Base: Jeremy Alvarado, Jr., Missouri Western
Outfield: Wade Hanna, Jr., Emporia State
Outfield: Tyler Sutherland, Jr., Missouri Southern
Outfield: Parker Gibson, Sr., Washburn
Designated Hitter: Derek Francis, Sr., Emporia State
Utility: Austin Unrein, Sr., Fort Hays State

Honorable Mention
Pitcher: Tyler House, Central Missouri; Jordan Plank, Emporia State; Brendan Feldmann, Lindenwood; Brendan Kleekamp, Lindenwood; Cody Hutchinson, Missouri Southern; Evan Jones, Missouri Western; Alex Clavet, Missouri Western; George Brandecker, Pittsburg State.
Relief Pitcher: Lucas Williams, Central Missouri; Gibson Russ, Central Oklahoma; Giles Fox, Fort Hays State; Preston Bailey, Missouri Western; John Watson, Nebraska-Kearney; Zack Hammock, Northeastern State; Carson Smith, Northwest Missouri; Greg Mason, Washburn; Jaren Kutzke, Washburn.
Catcher: Ryan Sosnowski, Lindenwood; Hunter Hisky, Southwest Baptist.

First Base: Mike Ehrhard, Lindenwood; Kyle Honeycutt, Nebraska-Kearney; Bryce Davenport, Northeastern State; Kevin Handzlik, Northwest Missouri.
Second Base: Jacob Bryant, Missouri Southern; Matt Salamon, Nebraska-Kearney; Charles Sims, Northeastern State; Ozzie Adams, Northwest Missouri
Shortstop: Levi Ashmore, Emporia State; Nick Hammeke, Fort hays State; Shane Sharkey, Nebraska-Kearney; Sean Murley, Southwest Baptist.
Third Base: Daniel LaMunyon, Emporia State; Alex Weiss, Fort Hays State; Jacob Boylan, Pittsburg State.
Outfield: Dylan Farrell, Central Missouri; Derek Cornell, Central Missouri; Matt Elliott, Central Missouri; Caleb Cherryholmes, Fort Hays State; Mike Million, Lincoln; Mason Price, Lincoln; Drew Quinones, Lindenwood; Kody Matthews, Missouri Western; Pate Katechis, Nebraska-Kearney; Cody Begovich, Northeastern State; Christian Arnold, Pittsburg State; Jeff Bouchard, Southwest Baptist.
Designated Hitter: Joe Mapes, Fort Hays State; Brandon Downs, Missouri Western; Dallas Schramm, Nebraska-Kearney.
Utility: Orencio Fisher, Missouri Western; Lance Barkley, Washburn.