The 80th Annual High School Oratorical Contest will take place in Bucklin Saturday afternoon. Click to hear KMZU’s Sarah Scott speak with Contest Chairman Larry Warren:

Larry Warren

Press Release from the American Legion

The American Legion is in the process of conducting it’s 80th Annual High School Oratorical Scholarship Program. The District Two Contest will be held on Saturday, January 4th, and the Bucklin American Legion Post Home at 1 pm. District Two is composed of 22 American Legion Posts in nine north central Missouri counties.

Four contestants from north central Missouri High Schools will vie for the District Championship and a $250 scholarship to attend the college or University of their choice. In Addition, Lindenwood University of St. Charles, Missouri, in concert with the Missouri American Legion provides additional scholarships of several thousand dollars for District Contestants who choose Lindenwood for their advanced education. This year’s District Two contestants are: Tori Brumbaugh, a sophomore representing Northeast R-IV High School at Cairo; Hayley Gladbach, a senior representing Northwestern R-1 High School at Mendon; Elizabeth Warren, a senior representing Southwest R-I High School at Ludlow; and Awan Theus, a junior representing Brunswick R-II High School at Brunswick.

Each contestant will present a prepared speech on an aspect of their choosing on the Constitution of the United States, and must do so without reference to notes, and be within time constraints of no less than five minutes nor more than six minutes. After their prepared presentation, a topic based on an Amendment to The Constitution will be assigned to each for an extemporaneous presentation of not less than three minutes nor more than five minutes. Contest officials will assist by displaying time cards at the three, four, five, and six minute points.

The winner will be selected by a panel of judges who will evaluate each presentation primarily on the attendant duties and obligations of citizens to our government; but also on general content, speaking skill, logic, style, and subject knowledge. The winner will represent District Two at the Zone Contest to be held in Hannibal on January 19th at 1:30 pm. The Zone winner will advance to State, and the state winner ($2000 scholarship) to regionals ($1,500 scholarships in each of two rounds) and ultimately to the National Contest. Two of the last three national winners have come from the State of Missouri: Agnes Rieger of the Kansas City area in 2013, and Anisha Gururaj of Chesterfield in 2011. Each was awarded an $18,000 scholarship in addition to the scholarships won along the way to the national contest.

Last year’s winning national presentation may be seen at the following URL: