Local authorities are cautioning residents to be aware of the fireworks ordinances in place in their area.  Click to hear KMZU’s Sarah Scott speak with Chillicothe Fire Chief Darrell Wright:

Darrell Wright

Chillicothe allows fireworks July 1st through 4th between 8:00 a.m. and midnight.  Aerial fireworks are prohibited.  “Anything that doesn’t consume in the air is not allowed,” said Wright. This includes all bottle rockets.

Lexington also prohibits bottle rockets.  Click to hear KMZU’s Sarah Scott speak with Police Chief Don Rector:

Don Rector

As the City Ordinance reads, fireworks may only be discharged on July 4th between 8:00 a.m. and 11:59 p.m.  Fireworks are allowed between 8:00 and 11:59 p.m. on July 3rd for this year, as the City’s fireworks display will be held Wednesday night.

Revelers in Carrollton are restricted to July 4th.  Carrollton does not limit shooting to specific hours, but reminds residents to be courteous and consider their neighbors.  Bottle rockets are prohibited within Carrollton City limits.

The City of Marshall has slightly stricter regulations.  Only ground-based fireworks are allowed, and only between 10:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. on Independence Day.  Aerial fireworks or those with a report are prohibited.  That includes bottle rockets, large rockets, any firework launched from a tube or mortar, fire crackers, roman candles, and night-time parachutes.