A team of Carrollton middle schoolers won first place at a Math and Science competition last week.  Click to hear KMZU’s Sarah Scott speak with Seventh-grade Science Teacher Michael Broyles:

Michael Broyles

The competition was held October 11th at Central Methodist University in Fayette.  Carrollton’s team consisted of eighth graders Alicea Canfield and Katie scott and sixth-grader Hayden Ritchart.  They competed against about 30 other teams.  Events consisted of a quiz and a building portion.  “Where they built airplanes and took those, and basically just tried to figure out aerodynamics,” said Broyles.

Press Release from Central Methodist University

Nearly ninety students from 10 regional schools converged on Central Methodist University this past Thursday (Oct. 11) for CMU’s Mary and Ted Forbes Middle School Math and Science Competition.

When events ranging from paper airplane throwing to contests in physical science, biology, earth and space science, and math were concluded, first place plaques were awarded to teams from Carrollton (sixth- to eighth-grade division) and Fayette (fourth and fifth grade division).

“We were impressed with the enthusiasm and efforts of the students, and their teachers,” noted Dr. James “Tiger” Gordon, contest coordinator and chair of the Science, Mathematics and Computer Science division at CMU.

“We hope that all of the students had fun and were challenged and will continue to pursue excellence in science and mathematics,” he added.

In the grades six to eight division, the Carrollton team of Alicea Canfield, Hayden Ritchhart and Katie Scott won top honors; Michael Broyles was their sponsoring teacher. Second place went to Moberly (Taylor Gingerich, Brianna Holder and Drake Rucker; Debbie Carroll, sponsor), while third place was won by New Franklin (Grace Hundley, Cristina Temple and Phillip Udinyiwe; Lisa Shrum, sponsor).

The grades four and five champion Fayette team included Grant Himmelmann, Jack Kindle and Carly Stark; Kevin Beeler was sponsoring teacher. Runner-up was St. Mary School of Glasgow (Dalton Fuemmeler, Elayna Kramm and Trevor Sanders; April Bailey, sponsor), while third place went to Northeast R-4 of Cairo (Oreta Baumann, Jacob Davis, and Sydney Ferguson; Angela Huntsman, sponsor).

Ten different schools competed in the sixth- to eighth-grade division, while five participated in grades four and five, Gordon said.