JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — After sampling 25,000 deer during the 2016-2017, the Missouri Department of Conservation has concluded sampling to find chronic wasting disease (CWD) in Missouri deer.

Nine cases of CWD were found in the state. Counties affected include Adair, Franklin, Jefferson, Macon, and St. Clair. As a result of the detections, the Missouri Department of Conservation is expanding the CWD Management Zones from 29 counties to 41 for fall 2017.

In a press release, Missouri Department of Conservation  Wildlife Disease Coordinator Jasmine Batten said, “While we did detect CWD in a few new areas of the state, including Jefferson and St. Clair counties, the fact that we found a low number of positives is great news and indicates CWD remains relatively rare in Missouri.”

The Missouri Department of Conservation has plans to continue mandatory CWD sampling during opening weekend of the 2017 fall firearms deer season. Only 25 of 41 counties will be take part in the mandatory sampling, but voluntary sampling will take place throughout the CWD Management Zone.

The mandatory CWD sampling counties for opening weekend will be: Adair, Barry, Benton, Cedar, Cole, Crawford, Dade, Franklin, Hickory, Jefferson, Knox, Linn, Macon, Moniteau, Ozark, Polk, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Sullivan, Stone, Taney, Warren, and Washington.

For more information on the Missouri Department of Confirmations efforts to control chronic wasting disease, visit