OSAGE BEACH, Mo., —  The 49th Annual Missouri Cattle Industry Convention and Trade Show was held Jan. 6-8 at Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach, Missouri.

According to several press releases from the Missouri Cattlemen’s Association, many awards and honors were presented.

Mike Parson, 2017 Cattlemen of the Year

Mike Parson of Bolivar, also the Lieutenant Governor for Missouri, was named as the Missouri Cattlemen’s Association

Cattleman of the Year. Parson was raised on a farm in Hickory County and currently owns a cow calf operation in Bolivar with his wife, Teresa. MCA President Butch Meier said. “Mike is a cattleman; not someone we consider a politician. As Mike went from town to town over the last year campaigning to serve as Missouri’s next lieutenant governor, he truly elevated the presence of this association and highlighted the importance of farm and ranch families throughout this state. There is no one who did more in 2016 to bring agriculture to the main-stage than Mike.

Leroy Strubberg was presented with the Missouri Cattlemen’s Association (MCA) Pioneer Award, which is the highest honor of distinction offered by the association, during the Missouri Cattle Industry Convention and Trade Show. Strubberg has dedicated much time and been truly committed to the MCA and the cattle industry in Missouri.
The Missouri Cattlemen’s Association’s history incudes many efforts by Strubberg. These efforts have been driven by his passion for the beef industry. Strubberg and his accounting firm played a large part in the reorganization of the Missouri Livestock Association as it became the Missouri Cattlemen’s Association in 1977. He also assisted in the development of the Missouri’s Cattlemen Foundation and the Beef House at the Missouri State Fair.
Strubberg’s home is in Franklin County, where he founded the cattlemen’s association there in 1982. He is also passionate about supporting youth and his community through the promotion of the beef industry.

One senator and two representatives received the 2016 Legislator of the Year Award.

Sen. Dave Schatz (R-26) was presented the award for his support of MCA over the past year. Schatz sponsored and guided the passage of the disaster bill through the senate, which prevents the state government from taxing disaster payments received by farmers and ranchers during natural disasters.

Sen. David Schatz (left), Rep. Warren Love (center), and Rep. Scott Fitzpatrick (right) were all recipients of the Legilature of the Year Award.

From the Missouri House of Representatives, two legislators were recognized. Rep. Warren Love (R-125) and Rep. Scott Fitzpatrick (R-158) were both recognized for their commitment to Missouri Cattlemen.

“We are glad to recognize these three legislators for their support of our organization,” MCA Executive Vice President Mike Deering said. “Our members do their best to fight for the beef industry each week at the capitol, but the decisions are ultimately made by the men and women elected to represent them.”

Many Youth were recognized during the conference. 25 scholarships were presented, the 2017 Beef Queen was named, junior cattle exhibitors were honored, and a winner was declared for the Cattlemen’s FFA Speaking Contest. These winners are outlined below.

Scholarship recipients:

Jackson Barry, Canton; Justin Belew, Hartsburg; Corbin Bell, Higginsville; Abigail Bertz, Mayview; Allison Bertz, Mayview; Emily Blaue, Wellsville; Hannah Boatright, Sedalia; Rachael Bonacker, Cedar Hill; Jessica Campen, Canton; Reba Colin, Butler; Shannon DeHaan, Taylor; Trevor DeHaan, Taylor; Taylor Eisenbath, Silex; Caden Farnan, Stanberry; Dana Hart, Gerald; Elizabeth Knipp, Tipton; Elizabeth Lemmon, Williamstown; Benjamin Luebbering, St. Thomas; Blayre Messner, Albany; Matthew Meyer, Sarcoxie; Mitchell Moon, Tipton; Aaron Mott, Rocheport; Makayla Reynolds, Huntsville; Mikayla Wallis, Eldon; and Davis Washburn, King City.

2017 Missouri Beef Queen and her court

2017 Beef Queen and her court:

Queen, Macey Hurst, of Jefferson City, Mo., Missouri State University Cattlemen’s Association

First runner-up, Kendra Elder, representing the Southeast Missouri Cattlemen

Second runner-up was Victoria Lock, representing the Carroll County Cattlemen

Junior Cattle Exhibitor honors:

The top five heifers were exhibited by Rance Wheeler, Paris; Grace Erickson, Bolivar; Carter Ward, Plattsburg; Haley Alden, Hamilton; and Brooklyn Adam, Lathrop.

Overall heifers in each breed were awarded as follows: Rance Wheeler, Angus; Gage Swindler, Gelbvieh; Matthew Owings, Charolais; Logan Lakin, Charolais Composite; Lauren Dilly, Chianina; Karley Rumfelt, Balancer; Tory Miller, Hereford; Brooklyn Adam, Limousin; Kaitlin Fifer, Maine Anjou; Ellistin Morey, Mainetainer; Brett Sartin, Red Angus; Landon Liebhart, Salers; Haley Alden, Shorthorn; Swayde Richardson, Shorthorn Plus; Grace Erickson, Simmental; Mallory Early, Foundation Simmental; and Noah Riley, Crossbred.

The top five market animals were exhibited by Kayla Morrow, Nevada; Dustin Daehn, Cuba; Cole Murphy, Houstonia; Tyler Gerke, Smithton; and Hailey Eads, Trenton.

Overall market animals in each breed were awarded as follows: Sean Houston, Angus; Kade Ward, Charolais; Emma Clark, Chianina; Carter Mitchell, Gelbvieh; Jaden Riley, Hereford; Gage Baker, Limousin; Tyler Gerke, Maine Anjou; Cole Murphy, Mainetainer; Brittany Hirsch, Red Angus; Neal Barnett, Salers; Kylee Dameron, Shorthorn; Cameron Tallman, Shorthorn Plus; Ashley Bailey, Simmental; Kayla Morrow, Crossbred; and Hailey Eads, Market Heifer.

FFA Speaking Contest:

Winner, Gracie Blankenship, Eldon FFA chapter

Finalists, Tanner Daugherty, South Harrison FFA, second; McIntyre Wilmes,  Silex FFA, third; Taylor Rothermich, Willow Springs FFA; Rachel Rothlesberger, Farmington FFA; Bethany Gulick, Miller FFA;