FULL KMZU Newsmaker (David Primm, Lions Representative, Kortlyn Rounkles, SW-Livingston graduate)


CARROLLTON, Mo. — On June 1-2, at the campus of North Central Missouri College, elite talents gathered for the 10th Annual District 26-M4 All-Star Basketball Tournament. The Gold Team won the women’s tournament over the Black Team by a final score of 74-46. The event also saw the Purple Team top the White Team 100-92 in the men’s tournament.

A pair of scoring records also fell over the weekend, with the two men’s finalist teams breaking their team records for scoring. The White Team set the team scoring record in their first round win over the Gold Team, scoring 108 points as a team. The Purple Team set their scoring record with their 100-point finish in the championship game.
For the first time in the history of the event, a Three-Point Shooting Contest was held on June 1 after all eight teams involved had held their practice. The men’s champion was Ryan Hughes of North Andrew. The women’s champion was Kourtlyn Rounkles of Southwest-Livingston High School.

Kortlyn Rounkles, SW-Livingston

The Women’s Gold Team was coached by Eric Fairchild of Southwest-Livingston, and assisted by Dustin Figg of Keytesville. Ashten Whitaker of Trenton scored a total of one point, Kaylie Campbell of Southwest-Livingston scored 13 points, Mylie Schupback of Keytesville scored four points, Courtney Shubert of Gallatin scored seven points, Kaylee Officer of North Andrew scored 13 points, Kourtlyn Rounkles of Southwest-Livingston scored 34 points, McKauley Prothero of Penney scored 20 points, Madison McCreary of East Buchanan scored 14 points, Mikayla Mattson of Jefferson scored 11 points, and Kameron Freemyer of Mound City scored 31 points.
The Women’s Black Team was coached by Wade Hal of Princeton and assisted by Tyler Zimmerman of Osborn. Brooke McDaniel of North Andrew scored 19 total points, Taylor McQueen of Stanberry scored 12 points, Jessica Brush of Osborn scored 15 points, Deanna Clayton of Mound City scored 21 points, Payton Craig of North Harrison scored 21 points, Shae Gilbert of King City scored two points, Vivian Allen of Princeton scored four points, Emma Thoeni of Norborne scored two points, and Lindsey Jones of Lathrop went scoreless at the event.
The Women’s White Team was coached by Kevin Carr of Meadville, and assisted by Tracy Flager of Stewartsville. Megan Cottrell of Gilman City scored 13 total points, Aleeya Heussner of TIna-Avalon scored five points, Harlie Jones of Chillicothe scored two points, Rachel Heili of West Platte went scoreless at the event, Madison Brown of Norborne scored 17 points, Samantha White of East Buchanan scored 13 points, McKenzie Shunk of North Andrew scored 17 points, and Anna Hill of Savannah scored 34 points.
The Women’s Purple Team was coached by Brandi Davis of Bucklin-Macon County, and assisted by Sami Jackson of North Nodaway. Maggie Phillips of Braymer scored 10 total points, Elizabeth Turpin of South Nodaway scored five points, Alisha Davison of North Nodaway scored five points, Katelyn Connor of Green City scored 32 points, Kassi Straley of Green City scored eight points, Josie Deen of Jefferson scored 20 points, and Jaden McCune of Stanberry scored 15 points.
The Men’s Purple Team was coached by Damon Collins of Princeton, and assisted by Kyle Fleshman of Putnam County. Carson Quint of Putnam County scored 23 total points, Jack Harvey of Bishop LeBlond scored 10 points, Garrett Fessler of Salisbury scored four points, Cody Kelly of Princeton scored 11 points, Hunter Scaggs of Mid Buchanan scored 38 points, Calvin Berwanger of Princeton scored 22 points, Drew Boller of Mid Buchanan scored 32 points, Grant Thompson of East Buchanan scored 10 points, Tucker Schwebach of Nodaway-Holt scored 19 points, and Blaine Millburn of Princeton scored 21 points.
The Men’s White Team was coached by Del Morley of North Andrew, and assisted by Vance Proffitt of Northeast Nodaway. Ryan Hughes of North Andrew scored 17 total points, AJ Worley of Brunswick scored six points, Cole Thorburn of North Andrew scored 14 points, Ryan McClellan of Worth County scored 14 points, Lathan Croy of Trenton scored 14 points, Brad Hailey of Stanberry scored 18 points, Cade Allee of Worth County scored 27 points, Ryan Schultz of North Andrew scored 17 points, Drake Kinsella of Worth County scored 23 points, Aidan DeLong of North Andrew scored 23 points, and Reece Winn of Brunswick scored 23 points.
The Men’s Black Team was coached by Jordan Richman of Penney, and assisted by Tad Shotten of Gilman City. Camden Williams of Green City scored one total point, Derek Dixon of Penney scored 27 points, Cornelius Peery of Gilman City scored 14 points, Sean Davis of Bishop LeBlond scored 25 points, Griffon Mefford of Cameron scored 14 points, Jack Willard of Chillicothe scored six points, Austin Budine of Mid Buchanan scored 16 points, Nick Rumbo of Staley scored 37 points, Austin Shirk of Maysville scored 12 points, Brock Lewis of Lathrop scored 14 points, and Mason Hawk of Worth County scored 10 points.
The Men’s Gold Team was coached by Kolton Jones of West Nodaway, and assisted by Dillon Lowrey of Tri-County. Jett Simmons of Gallatin scored 21 total points, Jacob Powelson of North Andrew scored 20 points, TJ Mitchell of South Holt scored 35 points, AJ Saunders of King City scored 23 points, David Hull of West Nodaway scored 26 points, Colin Joesting of Tarkio scored 15 points, Bryson Gann of Grundy County scored nine points, and Lance Cook of Tri-County scored three points.



District 26-M4 Lions representative, David Primm, contributed to this story.