Lafayette County Cattlemen officers and board members

HIGGINSVILLE, Mo. — The Lafayette County Cattlemen had their winter meeting, Saturday, March 7, 2016. Following dinner, John Harris the 2015 President started the business meeting around 7 p.m.

It was announced there will be a health forum for women on April 5th, 2016 at Berry Acres in Odessa. More information can be found for this event by contacting the Lafayette county Health Department at 660-259-4371. Other announcements concerned scholarships and Cowboys at the Capitol. Regions 5, 6, and 7 are scheduled to attend the Capitol on Wednesday April 6, and April 27, 2016.

Election of the 2016 officers followed announcements.


Marylin Lesmeister, MCW President

Four different officers were elected for one year terms:

  • Jeff Bergman – President
  • Billy Oelrichs – Vice President
  • Marlene Edwards – Secretary
  • Hannah Copenhaver – Treasurer

Galen Carson, Chance Malott, Brian Wildschuetz, and John Harris were all elected for three year terms as board members.


Keith Stevens, MCA President

The speakers for the evening were Keith Stevens, Missouri Cattlemen Association
President, and Marylin Lesmeister Missouri Cattlewomen Association President. Keith spoke about many topics concerning legislation and the beef check off. He announced that Missouri was honored for being top in membership during the National Cattlemen’s Convention. Marylin touched on membership costs for women, and their upcoming meeting at The Elms. The 2016 Annual Cattlewomen Regional Conference will be at The Elms Hotel and Spa in Excelsior Springs, Mo June 2-4, 2016. She also urged members to help at the showcase at the Missouri State Fair.


Left to right: Ronnie Bertz, Chad Copenhaver, Hannah Copenhaver


The 2015 Lafayette County Cattle Person of the Year are Chad and Hannah Copenhaver of Lexington. Both Chad and
Hannah have been very involved with 4-H and FFA their whole life, and are active members of the Cattlemen’s Association.