ST. JOSEPH, Mo. — The Missouri Department of Conservation (MDC) has announced the closures of several conservation areas in the Northwest region of Misosuri due to Missouri River flooding.

According to a press release Tuesday, the counties and conservation areas that are closed will remain so until further notice.

  • Andrew County – Nodaway Island, Tom Brown Access, Worthwine Island
  • Atchison County – Aspinwall Bend, Corning, Hoot Owl Bend, Langdon Bend, Lower Hamburg Bend, Upper and Lower Nishnabotna, and Watson Access
  • Buchanan County – Dupree Memorial, French Bottoms Access at St Joseph, Jentell Brees Access, Kneib Memorial
  • Holt County – Bob Brown, Derion Bend, Monkey Mountain, Payne Landing, Rush Bottom Bend, Thurnau, Wolf Creek Bend

Blaine Adams, the Disaster Response Coordinator with the MDC, was quoted in the press release talking about how much flooding has occurred in Atchinson County.

“About everything in Atchison County west of Interstate 29 is under water or is going to be soon.”

High waters have also prompted the closure of the Cooley Lake Conservation Area boat ramp in Clay County.

Missouri Department of conservation staff members have been working with local levee districts and farmers to try and keep the flood waters at bay.

To learn more about the MDC Conservation Areas, uncluding closures, visit the Missouri Department oif Conservation’s website.