JEFFERSON CITY — The state’s soybean farmers brought impressive yields to Missouri Soybean Association’s annual competition. Top honors — and the overall highest yield — went to Gary Porter of Mercer with 106.14 bushels per acre. Porter used Pioneer P39A58X. District 4 winner Brett Varner of Odessa netted 91.24 bushels per acre, utilizing Pioneer P38A98X. Both entered in the no-till category. Results were released Wednesday  by the Missouri Soybean Association.

“The results of our annual Missouri Soybean Association yield contest exemplify the dedication of soybean farmers across the state,” says Ronnie Russell, Richmond farmer and president of the Missouri Soybean Association. “Statewide, we had a pretty good growing season and contest submissions reflected both stewardship and attention to detail. I always enjoy the friendly competition this contest presents, as well. Special thanks to our participants, contest officials and partners who make this event possible each and every year.”

2020 winners will be recognized at the virtual district soybean meetings this month and next, with statewide winners also being honored during the Missouri Soybean Association annual meeting.

To see all results, click on this link to the Missouri Soybean Association website.