During the annual meeting of the Missouri Cattlemen’s Association (MCA), leaders were elected for the year. Janet Akers from Clinton, Mo., elevated to president of the association. Akers said she is proud to serve as president alongside the other volunteer leaders and “It is an honor to be afforded the opportunity to lead the Missouri Cattlemen’s Association as its president. This organization is the largest and oldest association in the state solely representing the interests of cattle producers.”
Elected to serve as president-elect was Keith Stevens from Bolivar, Mo., who will also chair the association’s membership committee. Butch Meier from Jackson, Mo., will serve as the association’s vice president and chair of the convention committee. David Dick, Sedalia, Mo., will serve as secretary and Sheryl Brewe, Marthasville, Mo., will serve as treasurer and chair of the budget and finance committee. 2014 MCA President Jim McCann will serve as past president and chairman of the MCA Executive Committee.
MCA has seven regional vice presidents serving as the voice for all regions of the state. Mike Henderson from Wellsville, Mo., was elected to serve as vice president for region two. Bobby Simpson, Salem, Mo., was elected to serve the southeast part of the state as region three vice president. Mark Garges, Cameron, Mo., was re-elected to serve the northwest part of the state as vice president for region four. Marvin Dieckman, Cole Camp, Mo., was also re-elected to serve as vice president for region six. No other regional vice president seats were open.
Representing the cow/calf council on the executive committee is Chuck Massengill from California, Mo. The stocker/feeder council will be represented by Jimmie Long, Cole Camp, Mo., and the seedstock council will be represented by Tom Black from Warsaw, Mo. The Elections took place during the 47th Annual Missouri Cattle Industry Convention and Trade Show January 2nd-4th.