MISSOURI — The Missouri Department of Conservation is continuing to manage Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) in the state, but is asking hunters for their help  to slow down the spread of the disease.

CWD sampling will be mandatory in 25 counties this year. These counties are: Adair, Barry, Benton, Cedar, Cole, Crawford, Dade, Franklin, Hickory, Jefferson, Knox, Linn, Macon, Moniteau, Ozark, Polk, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Warren, and Washington.

In other counties, sampling will not be required, but will be suggested. The map below details the CWD management zone.


CWD Management Zone


To find sampling stations near your hunting spot, visit mdc.mo.gov/cwd.

Sampling stations will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and the hunter who harvested the deer will need to be present. The hunters will also be asked to identify the location where the deer was harvested. The deer may be field dress and without a cape, but needs to have the head with at least 6 inches of the neck.

Free test results will be provided in the weeks following the sampling.