JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — A statement from the office of Missouri Governor Mike Parson states that President Trump has approved the state of Missouri’s request for a major disaster declaration.

The declaration, that was approved on Tuesday, will assist residents and businesses in 20 counties in the state affected by flooding, tornadoes, and severe storms that began April 29 and continue to impact the state.

The President’s declaration makes the federal Individual Assistance program available to eligible residents in Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Cole, Greene, Holt, Jackson, Jasper, Lafayette, Lincoln, Livingston, Miller, Osage, Pike, Platte, Pulaski, and St. Charles counties.

Residents in these counties can now register for Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) assistance with temporary housing, housing repairs, and the replacement of household items.

In the statement the Governor urges Missourians affected by flooding and severe storms to register now for assistance.