Press Release from the Office of Governor Jay Nixon

JEFFERSON CITY – Gov. Jay Nixon today appointed the members of the bi-partisan apportionment commissions that will set new boundaries for the 34 districts in the Missouri Senate and the 163 districts in the Missouri House of Representatives. The Missouri Constitution requires the Governor to appoint the two commissions to reapportion the state’s legislative districts following the national census that occurs every 10 years.

The state committees of the two major political parties each submitted 10 names to Gov. Nixon to consider for appointment to the Senate apportionment commission. From those lists, the Governor selected five members from each of the lists for the commission, for a total of 10 members.

The congressional district committees from the two parties in each of Missouri’s nine congressional districts each submitted two nominees for appointment to the House apportionment commission. The Governor selected one member from each of the committees’ lists, for a total of 18 members.

The Senate apportionment commission members, along with their hometown and political affiliations are:

John Borbonus (D – St. Louis)

Doug Harpool (D – Springfield)

John Maupin (R – St. Louis)

Jeff Mazur (D – Ashland)

Joe Passanise (R – Springfield)

Terry Riley (D – Kansas City)

Miles Ross (R – Springfield)

Bob Saunders (D – Liberty)

Kathy Swan (R – Cape Girardeau)

Yancy Williams (R – Columbia)

The House apportionment commission members, along with their congressional district, hometown and political affiliation are:

Marlene E. Davis (D – First Congressional District, St. Louis)

Thomas Wilsdon (R – First Congressional District, St. Louis)

Cheryl Hibbeler (D – Second Congressional District, O’Fallon)

Ann Wagner (R – Second Congressional District, Ballwin)

David Courtway (R – Third Congressional District, Festus)

Jo Ann Karll (D – Third Congressional District, High Ridge)

Violet Corbett (R – Fourth Congressional District, Knob Noster)

Paula Willmarth (D – Fourth Congressional District, Jefferson City)

Chuck Caisley (R – Fifth Congressional District, Kansas City)

W. Mitchell Elliott (D – Fifth Congressional District, Kansas City)

Trent Skaggs (D – Sixth Congressional District, North Kansas City)

James C. Thomas III (R – Sixth Congressional District, Kansas City)

Nick Myers (R – Seventh Congressional District, Joplin)

Todd Patterson (D – Seventh Congressional District, Joplin)

Eddy Justice (R – Eighth Congressional District, Poplar Bluff)

Nate Kennedy (D – Eighth Congressional District, Poplar Bluff)

Joe Maxwell (D – Ninth Congressional District, Mexico)

Cindy O’Laughlin (R – Ninth Congressional District, Shelbina)

Under the Missouri Constitution, the commissions will hold their first meetings in Jefferson City on April 5, 2011.