JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — President Barack Obama has issued a disaster declaration for 59 Missouri counties affected by the powerful winter storm that hit the state Jan. 31 to Feb. 5.

Wednesday’s declaration means governments and certain nonprofit groups may seek federal aid to help defray the cost of emergency activities such as removing snow and repairing or replacing storm-damaged facilities.

The storm brought blizzard conditions and dumped up to a couple of feet of snow in some parts of Missouri.

Counties covered by the declaration are: Adair, Andrew, Audrain, Barton, Bates, Benton, Boone, Caldwell, Callaway, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Dade, Dallas, DeKalb, Grundy, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Pettis, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, St. Clair, Sullivan, Vernon and Worth.