The formation of two new fire protection districts that would be allowed to collect taxes for their services will be the focus of a public hearing in Marshall Thursday.  Click to hear KMZU’s Kristie Cross talk to Saline County Rural Fire Protection Agency President Larry Holland:

Larry Holland

If the measure is approved, all residents would pay a maximum 30 cent tax levy and automatically become members of the organizations.   Holland said this would be a benefit for those in their district, as well in the Slater Fire District area.  “Right now, if you are a member and have a fire, you have a $250 fee for that call, “said Holland, “If you are not a member in Slater you own $1,000 for the same call and in the Marshall District it’s $2,000.”

Holland explained that under the changes, all residents would be responsible for the tax plus the $250 per-call charge.

Thursday’s hearing will begin at 10:00 a.m. at the Saline County Courthouse.  If approved, voters will see the measure on their August ballots.