(Minneapolis, MN)  —  Luis Mendoza tossed a gem to lead the Royals to a 4-3 win over the Twins.  Mendoza went eight innings and allowed one run to improve to 3-and-4.  Jonathan Broxton allowed two runs in the ninth but picked up his 20th save.  Salvador Perez hit a solo homer while Billy Butler, Yuniesky Betancourt and Eric Hosmer each drove in a run for Kansas City.  The Royals have won four straight.  Brian Duensing suffered the defeat for Minnesota after allowing three runs in four-plus innings.  Ryan Doumit, Joe Mauer and Josh Willingham each drove in a run for the Twins, who have dropped three straight.

Royals manager Ned Yost says this is a great win ahead of Saturday’s doubleheader.


Royals manager Ned Yost says Luis Mendoza was terrific on the mound.


Royals third baseman Mike Moustakas says they need to keep the winning streak going.


The Twins and Royals start a double header today with first pitch at 12:10.




(St. Louis, MO)  —  Andrew McCutchen belted a two-run homer and scored four times to help the Pirates pound the Cardinals, 14-5.  Clint Barmes and Alex Presley both added solo shots, and Garrett Jones had a two-run bomb for Pittsburgh, which has won three straight.  Jose Tabata scored three times in the win.  Kevin Correia gave up five runs in as many innings for the win.  Adam Wainwright allowed seven runs in five innings for the loss.  Allen Craig hit a three run home run for St. Louis, which has lost two in-a-row.  Carlos Beltran connected on his two-thousandth hit in the loss.

Cardinals manager Mike Matheny says Carlos Beltran’s two-thousandth hit was a bright spot in this loss.


Cardinals outfielder Carlos Beltran talks about reaching the two-thousand hit plateau.


The Cardinals will try to get back on track against the Pirates this afternoon, first pitch will be at 1:15 .




LA MONTE, Mo. — Dean Wille picked up his first feature win at L A Raceway this season in the Pitts Homes of Warsaw A Modified feature after taking the lead from Terry Schultz with only five laps left in the event.

Terry Schultz and Matt Dotson, both drivers who have made the trip to the winner’s circle this season, started on the front row. Schultz quickly took the lead leaving Dotson to battle with Wille. Wille took second three laps into the feature and set his sights on Schultz.

A couple of cautions allowed the leaders to test different sides of the track to see where their race car ran better. The caution on lap 16 gave Wille the advantage he needed to take the lead. Wille sailed around the high side during the first set of turns and sealed his lead down the backstretch.

As laps wound down, the leaders spaced out between each other and left the major battles in the middle of the field. Wille, Schultz, Dotson, Kaleb Bray and Christopher Moon finished in the top honors for the feature.

Galen Hassler picked up his third consecutive win in the B Modified feature event. Hassler and Chad Staus started on the front row.

Staus went to work on Hassler for the lead once the green flag flew. Tyler Lewis, last year’s track champion, had his sights set on Staus. Staus was holding strong in second place until he failed to negotiate turn three on lap 13 sending him to the back of the field.

Hassler and Lewis crossed the finish line in the top two positions. Josh Calvert worked his way from his seventh starting position to finish third. Chris Brockway finished fourth and Adam Belt finished fifth.

In the Street Stock feature event, there were several strong, fast drivers that had an unlucky night. Marc Carter and Troy Turley made up the first row with several hard chargers near the back of the pack.

Turley quickly took the lead in the feature event with Carter chasing him. Kevin Perkins came all the way to third from the sixth starting position in one lap. Larry Ferris was sitting in fourth until he spun out on lap five collecting John Brooks. Both tagged the tail of the field moving Scott Krause into fourth.

Lap six and seven seemed to cause the most problems. On the restart of lap six, Perkins got tangled up with other cars and fell back three spots. Simultaneously, Ted Welschmeyer went off the back side of the track and lost several positions. He had already worked himself up to fourth from ninth.

Turley still led the pack with Carter, Krause and Victor Sims following in pursuit. A few more lap seven restarts yielded Sims getting crossed up and looping his racecar in turns one and two. And the leader, Turley, looped his car in turns three and four. Turley called it a night and loaded his car on the trailer.

When the field of cars were able to finally complete lap seven, Carter led with Perkins, Krause, Welschmeyer and Ferris rounding out the top five. Two laps later, Krause looped his street stock collecting Welschmeyer and Ferris.

Carter picked up the feature win when it was all said and done. Sims took second. Perkins, Krause and Welschmeyer managed to pull off top five finishes.

Mitchell Moore picked up where he left off two weeks ago in his borrowed car during the 305 Sprint feature event. Dwayne Benson gave him a run for his money at first. Tony Crank fell back to fourth when the race started, but was able to take third from Michael Schouten with only a few laps left in the feature event.

As the checkered flag flew, Schouten seemed to lose power in his sprinter allowing Tom McGarry to sneak by for the fourth place finish.

Moore has only been beaten twice this entire season at L A Raceway by McGarry and Chad Goff, who lent him his sprinter for the night.

Michael Tyler picked up the Hobby Stock feature win with John Simpson, Will Register, Chuck Coffey and Rodger Detherage finishing in the top five.

L A Raceway invites fans to join them Friday, July 6, as the USRA A Modifieds, B Modifieds, 305 Sprints, Street Stocks and Hobby Stocks once again take the track for the battle to be named track champion. Gates open at 5:30, with hot laps starting at 7:30 p.m. For more information about the track, visit www.laraceway.com.