USDA’s Risk Management Agency has changed prevented planting insurance qualification requirements for farmers in the “Prairie Pothole States” of Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota. Risk Management Agency Administrator William Murphy says the change is intended to assist farmers who have experienced difficulties due to excessive moisture in their fields over recent years.
Beginning with the 2012 crop year – a crop must be grown on the acreage at least one of the previous four years if a farmer wishes to qualify. All other policy provisions must also be met. Murphy said the change improves program integrity and helps to meet the needs of farmers in the Prairie Pothole region – where some acreage has not been available to plant since the 2008 crop year due to flooding and excessive moisture conditions.The prevented planting guarantee for the crop ranges from 60 to 70-percent of the production guarantee for acreage timely planted by the final planting date. Options available to producers are outlined on the RMA website.