The Kansas City Royals went on to a 6-4 comeback win yesterday over Chicago in the final game for retiring White Sox captain Paul Konerko. Kansas City was hoping for a one-game playoff today in Detroit for the division crown. But the Tigers clinched the Central with a 3-0 victory over the Twins. That sent the Royals to a home wild-card game against Oakland tomorrow night in their first playoff appearance since 1985.


The St. Louis Cardinals closed out the regular season yesterday with a 1-0 win over the Arizona Diamondbacks. The Cardinals were already in the postseason entering the day and celebrated the division title in the dugout minutes before first pitch. That’s when Cincinnati’s 4-1 win over Pittsburgh was announced. St. Louis finished 90-72. Redbirds will take on the Dodgers Friday in LA.



It will be Monday Night Football tonight for the Chiefs at Arrowhead. KC will take on the New England Patriots


Sunday Games

Final Houston 23 Buffalo 17

Final Baltimore 38 Carolina 10

Final Detroit 24 N-Y Jets 17

Final Green Bay 38 Chicago 17

Final Miami 38 Oakland 14

Final Tampa Bay 27 Pittsburgh 24

Final Indianapolis 41 Tennessee 17

Final San Diego 33 Jacksonville 14

Final Minnesota 41 Atlanta 28

Final San Francisco 26 Philadelphia 21

Final Dallas 38 New Orleans 17



Kansas coach Charlie Weis has been fired four games into his third season as coach. Weis was fired by Notre Dame in 2009 after five seasons at his alma mater. Defensive coordinator Clint Bowen will serve as interim coach of the Jayhawks.


Florida State remains the No. 1 team in the latest Associated Press college football poll, but the Seminoles claimed just 27 of 60 first-place votes following their second consecutive close call. Second-ranked Oregon and No. 3 Alabama each claimed 13 first-place votes, while Oklahoma took seven. Auburn is fifth, followed by Texas A&M, Baylor, UCLA, Notre Dame and Michigan State. Mizzou is back in the TOP 25 after knocking off South Carolina Saturday. They are #24. Kansas State is #23.



Jeff Gordon won the Triple-A 400 at Dover International Speedway and earned an automatic spot in the 12-drive field that advanced to the next round of the Chase for the championship. Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano also advanced, as did Kasey Kahne (kayn), Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Matt Kenseth and Ryan Newman.