Two students at Tina-Avalon have won the Missouri Rural Water Association’s annual video contest.   Click to hear KMZU’s Sarah Scott speak with Sophomores Lacey Rucker and Tori McCracken:

Tori McCracken and Lacey Rucker

The $1,000 prize will go to the Tina-Avalon chapter of Future Business Leaders of America.  The video can be found at

Press Release from the Missouri Rural Water Association

Ashland, Missouri – April 20, 2012 – The Missouri Rural Water Association (MRWA) has awarded the Tina-Avalon School the winner of its annual video contest for the second year running!

This entitles the school to $1,000 to use as it chooses and a pizza party for the class responsible for the video production, courtesy of the MRWA.

“The video contest promotes communication between kids and water systems,” explains MRWA TMF Circuit Rider and Video Contest Facilitator Jim Enterline. “It helps the kids better understand what’s at stake when it comes to delivering safe drinking water.”

The winner is selected by a majority vote from individuals representing different segments of the water industry: regulatory, finance, and water system operations. These people gathered April 18th for the annual MRWA Open House and Fish Fry.

During the event, videos from the five finalists ran in a continuous loop, while people viewed the videos and cast ballots for their favorites. The video with the most popular votes was determined the winner.

This year’s theme was “Careers in the water industry”.

Participating Teacher Susan Rucker offered her Tina-Avalon class this opportunity. Students Tori McCracken and Lacey Rucker accepted the challenge and went to work developing a video.

Grades 9-12 from schools across the State are invited to submit videos. Water systems sponsor schools by alerting them to the contest and encouraging their participation.

Public Water Supply District (PWSD) 1 of Carroll County and Livingston PWSD 3 sponsored Tina-Avalon, which educates adolescents from both counties.

Other contesters for the prize were Crocker High School Science Department, City of Crocker; Meadville R-IV, City of Meadville; Osceola Public School, City of Osceola; and Windsor High School FFA, City of Windsor.

The MRWA places no restrictions upon the use of the winning funds; so the school may use the money however it wants. A couple of possibilities include paying for necessary equipment at school that is otherwise unfunded or treating the class to a fun day of recreation.

– more –
Last year, Tina-Avalon took its 13 students in the freshman class to Worlds of Fun Amusement Park, north of Kansas City.

This was the 3rd year for the contest. Otterville School won the prize in 2010, followed with consecutive wins by Tina-Avalon.

The Tina-Avalon 2012 winning video can be found at this link:

The MRWA is a non-profit organization. Its primary service population includes water and wastewater utilities throughout Missouri. It provides training, technical assistance, specialized services, and resources.

Indirect services of the MRWA include outreach to future water and wastewater operators, decision makers, and involved citizens in an attempt to educate them about the importance of water in our lives and of the vital work performed by these utilities.

For more information about the MRWA, see its website at