The United Sorghum Checkoff Board is comprised of nine sorghum farmers who represent Kansas, Texas and Oklahoma and four at-large national representatives.

WASHINGTON — Thursday afternoon USDA Secretary Sonny Perdue announced the appointment of four members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board.

According to the USDA, the newly appointed sorghum producers include:

  • Craig A. Poore, Alton, Kansas
  • Boyd Funk, Garden City, Kansas
  • Jim Massey IV, Robstown, Texas
  • Adam Schindler, Reliance, South Dakota (At-large)

Secretary Perdue explained each individual on the 13-member board plays an important role in increasing demand for sorghum both domestically and internationally.

“Last year, more than $1 billion of U.S. sorghum was sold in more than 21 countries around the world,” said Perdue in a July 5 press release. “I truly appreciate the time and expertise these individuals have agreed to give to guide their industry and help it thrive.”

The United Sorghum Checkoff Program said Schindler will fill the at-large seat in December when David Fremark of St. Lawrence, South Dakota, completes his term. The other three individuals were all “reappointed to their respective seats” and will begin their new three-year term beginning in December as well.

“We are excited to welcome both the new and returning directors to the Sorghum Checkoff,” said United Sorghum Checkoff Executive Director Florentino Lopez. “The board of directors plays an essential role in our efforts to increase producer profitability and enhance the sorghum industry, and we look forward to working with the appointed board of directors in carrying out the goals of the Checkoff for our farmers.”

For more information, visit the United Sorghum Checkoff Program website.